Welcome to our guest post by Rob Williams Assessment and School Entrance Tests on Developing skills frameworks.

skills framework development

Skill taxonomy
Skills were selected from levels 3 and 4 of the Global Skills Taxonomy to represent skills of interest to organizations across sectors and economies
Skill family (level 1)
Skill cluster (level 2)

Skills, knowledge and abilities

Cognitive skills

  • Analytical thinking
  • Creative thinking
  • Multi-lingualism
  • Reading, writing and mathematics
  • Systems thinking

Technology skills

  • AI and big data
  • Design and user experience
  • Networks and cybersecurity
  • Programming

Engagement skills

  • Marketing and media
  • Service orientation and customer service

Management skills

  • Quality control
  • Resource management and operations
  • Talent management

Physical skills

  • Manual dexterity, endurance and precision
  • Sensory-processing abilities


  • Ethics Environmental stewardship
  • Global citizenship
  • Curiosity and lifelong learning
  • Self-efficacy
  • Dependability and attention to detail
  • Motivation and self-awareness
  • Resilience, flexibility and agility
  • Working with others
  • Empathy and active listening
  • Leadership and social influence
  • Teaching and mentoring
  • Technological literacy